A note about YA

Perhaps it has something to do with it being summer, but I find myself only wanting to kick back with silly, transparently-written young adult novels lately. Maybe it’s a thirst for adventure, or maybe it’s so damn hot out and I don’t want to think about anything else too hard.

Recently I went through The Lightning Thief, which is the first book in the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series. I don’t know why I decided to start it when I knew it was a four book series, and how I thought I could stop at just the first one. It’s not grand literature by any means, but I have to know what happens next. I am refusing to buy them (at only $8 a paperback, I’m being super stingy), but that’s not saying next time I’m in a bookstore I just won’t leaf through the next installment and read a few chapters. Casual.

For some inexplainable reason, though, I saw The Chronicles of Vladimir Tod in a $2 clearance bin and picked up the first book, Eighth Grade Bites. YA Vampire Lit, yeah yeah, I know. It reads exactly like one would expect. I’m not as commited to the Vlad series, so I don’t see myself going on with the books, but the first one tops out at 180 pages, so it’s a quick read. Quite dark too, for YA, even though it is vampire fic. The series follows Vlad up through his senior year of high school, so I have a sick curiosity to just pick up the final book to see how “adult” it becomes (Vlad currently drinks blood from a bloodbag, but does he ever bite a human, ever?)

I think what this comes down to is the coming of age story – I’m a sucker for them. I love going through the awkward progression of child to teenager to begrudging adult with a protagonist (and I’m more drawn to male protags, too). So for now, I’m going to kick back and watch how these demigods and vampires deal with adolescence.

Leave a Reply

